KSS21 Trois poèmes pour chant et piano

Piece details

  • Written for: Voice and Piano
  • Date composed: 1918–19
  • Dedicatee: Marthe Martine
  • Approximate duration (minutes): 7
  • Manuscript pages: 9
  • Manuscript location: Private collection
  • Comments: Published (London and Continental Music Publishing 1921). The three songs are:
    • Correspondances (Baudelaire)
    • Crépuscule du soir mystique (Verlaine)
    • Pantomime (Verlaine)
    The manuscript survives for the third song Pantomime only.

Editions available from the Sorabji Archive

  • Copy of publication, A4P. 9 pages.
    Price: £15 (paper), £10 (pdf)
    Right-click to download high resolution sample page: PDF PNG
  • Manuscript, A3L. 4 pages.
    Price: £15 (paper), £10 (pdf)
    Right-click to download high resolution sample page: PDF PNG


  • Elizabeth Farnum (soprano), Margaret Kampmeier (piano),
    Centaur Records CRC2613 (2002)
    Track 1-3 (6:49)
    Track 1 Correspondances (2:41)
    Track 2 Crépuscule du soir mystique (2:42)
    Track 3 Pantomime (1:26)


  • 02/06/1921 Marthe Martine (soprano), Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji (piano)
    Société des Agriculteurs de France, Paris, France
    Société Musicale Indépendante
  • 25/02/1989 Jo Ann Pickens (soprano), Jean-Bernard Marie (piano)
    Serpentine Gallery, London, UK
  • 01/03/1991 Hieke Meppelink (soprano), Robert Nasveld (piano)
    De IJsbreker, Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Lunchtime concert
  • 30/03/1991 Janice Lewis (soprano), Elvira Froese (piano)
    John Aird Recital Hall, Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, Canada
    Student Recital
  • 09/03/1995 Judith Burns (soprano), Brian Inglis (piano) [iii]
    Performance Area, Department of Music, City University, London, UK
  • 03/11/2000 Sarah Leonard (soprano), Stephen Gutman (piano)
    Conway Hall, London, UK
    Planet Tree Festival
  • 24/10/2001 Jacqueline Pischorn (soprano), Alex Szram (piano)
    Southwark Cathedral, London, UK
    Lunchtime concert
  • 14/11/2002 Elizabeth Farnum (soprano), Margaret Kampmeier (piano)
    Merkin Hall, New York NY, USA
  • 13/02/2004 Sarah Leonard (soprano), Jonathan Powell (piano)
    St Cyprian’s Church, London, UK
  • 09/04/2008 Natasha Jouhl (soprano), Philip Smith (piano)
    Chiesa di Santa Cristina della Fondazza, Bologna, Italy
  • 12/04/2011 Amy Fuller (soprano), Kent Conrad (piano)
    Memorial Room, Smith Music Hall, University of Illinois , Urbana, IL, USA
    Doctoral recital
  • 05/01/2014 Patricia Rozario (soprano), Parvesh Java (piano) [ii/iii]
    National Gallery of Modern Art, Mumbai, India
  • 23/11/2014 Gina Fergione (mezzo-soprano), Christopher Scobie (piano) [ii]
    Sutton House, Stoke Newington, London, UK
    Stoke Newington Contemporary Music Festival
  • 12/05/2015 Lily Scott (soprano), Gemma Beeson (piano)
    The Venue, Leeds College of Music, Leeds, UK
  • 19/07/2015 Cyrille Dubois (tenor), Anne le Bozec (piano) [i/ii]
    l'Eglise de La Grave, Pays de la Meije, Paris, France
    18ème Festival Messiaen
  • 22/10/2021 Mary Bevan (soprano), Michael Dussek (piano) [i]
    St. John the Evangelist Church, Oxford, UK
    Oxford Lieder Festival 2021: Baudelaire in Song

Broadcasts etc.

  • 03/06/1979 Jane Manning (soprano), Yonty Solomon (piano)
    BBC Radio 3, London, UK [broadcast]
  • 06/02/1984 Jane Manning (soprano), Yonty Solomon (piano)
    BBC Radio 3, London, UK [repeat broadcast]
  • 28/07/1984 Jane Manning (soprano), Yonty Solomon (piano) [ii]
    BBC Radio 3, London, UK [repeat broadcast]
  • 26/07/1988 Jane Manning (soprano), Yonty Solomon (piano) [i,iii]
    Cleveland Lodge (home of Lady Susi Jeans), Dorking, UK [recording]
    Organists’ Summer School: Illustrated Lecture
  • 27/02/1991 Jane Manning (soprano), Yonty Solomon (piano) [i]
    Lecture Room A, Music Faculty, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK [recording]
    Oxford University Contemporary Music Group, Illustrated Lecture (Alistair Hinton)
  • 09/08/1992 Ingrid Schmidhüsen (soprano), Thomas Palm (piano)
    Radio Bremen, Bremen, Germany [broadcast of recording]
    Hauptabteilung E-Musik, Redaktion Neue Musik
  • 28/08/2003 Elizabeth Farnum (soprano), Margaret Kampmeier (piano)
    WPRB, Princeton NJ, USA [broadcast of recording]
    “Classical Discoveries” programme